Convention Delegates Elect CAW Leadership Team

August 23, 2012


CAW National President Ken Lewenza has been acclaimed president of the union at the CAW’s 1st Constitutional and Collective Bargaining Convention.

Lewenza accepted his re-election in an inspirational speech outlining the importance of the CAW throughout not only his life but also that of his extended family.

Lewenza said principles of equity, fairness, transparency and inclusiveness for all workers that have always guided the CAW will be the same principles that apply in the proposed new union.

“Every day I wake up and think about the soul of our union – the culture of our union…I ask am I doing the best possible job,” Lewenza said. When it’s been a tough, difficult day, Lewenza said he remains inspired by the work of past and current national leadership, CAW local leadership, activists, members and delegates to the convention.

He thanked delegates for again supporting the election of a rank and file member National Executive Board.

In addition, to Lewenza’s acclamation, National Secretary-Treasurer Peter Kennedy was acclaimed and Sylvain Martin was nominated and acclaimed as Quebec director, replacing Jean-Pierre Fortin, who is retiring at the end of this year.

“I’m incredibly honoured and humbled that you have shown your support and confidence,” Kennedy said.

Sylvain Martin thanked Fortin for his mentorship and integrity over the years. “An important lesson that I learned from Jean-Pierre, no matter how difficult the decision, always make it in the interests of the members of Quebec and the members of the union.”

“Good luck to the new executive,” said Fortin, during his heartfelt outgoing speech.

CAW Local 414 President Christine Connor, CAW Local 112 President Roland Kiehne and CAW Local 3000 President Jean Van Vliet were also nominated and acclaimed as NEB trustees.

CAW Local 302 President Nancy McMurphy was also acclaimed to the NEB as member at large.

Follow the action!

Sign up to receive webcast alerts and convention news: